Back and Forth

Back and Forth
The weather, March Madness, and the spiritual realm; what do they all have in common. Two words, back and forth. The season is spring. It certainly wants to be and is coming, but winter just doesn’t want to die yet. The temperatures keep fighting back and forth. If you have watched any March Madness this past weekend, you know that there were some good games. And anytime there is a good game, the two teams are going back and forth, trading baskets, and you are in suspense wondering who will win. Then there is the spirit realm. Have you been struggling and battling in your faith lately? I know I have. The enemy has been on the attack and I think I know the reason why. It’s because God is about to do something very miraculous and the enemy is in fear of it.
In the past 2 weeks, I have already seen a lot of miracles happening in my own life and in the lives of others, which is very exciting! With that said, the enemy often tries to get me to forget those facts. I have to fight to get myself out of complaining when he attacks. When that happens, I have to counter-attack. Just like in the NCAA tournament, when one team makes a run, the other team can do one of 2 things. They can either get down and complain about how things aren’t going their way, or they can get motivated and bounce back with a run of their own. The weather is following the same pattern. It has gotten very warm on some days and I get to thinking that winter is finally over and has been defeated. However, winter has been bouncing back with a cold front of its own. Just yesterday and this morning, we had snow and I’m thinking, “This is ridiculous, it’s already spring on the calendar.” However, when I looked back in my writings to find out that we had church canceled because of snow at this time last year, my mindset changed to a more grateful attitude about this year.
I noticed also that in all three of these categories that the back and forth shift started happening about 2 weeks ago. The first nice day we had in a while here in Iowa was in the first week of March. Also around the first week of March was when the conference tournaments began and basketball got crazy. And finally, the Spirit made a strong return with an unloading of miracles springing into peoples’ lives. With all of that said, more goodness is coming. It’s time to stop being set back and looking forth into what is happening in the future. “A setback is a setup for a comeback stronger.” is one of my favorite quotes and I think illustrates this point well. Paul also says it well in Philippians 3:13-14, “Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead. I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” That’s the why of our purpose and why we go back and forth, that we would press on toward something better, deeper, and higher.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

