Dream in the Dark

Dream in the Dark

With it being a holiday, Martin Luther King Jr. Day, I’ve taken a little bit longer than I’ve wanted to in writing this next piece.  However, from here, I think the next pieces in our future are very important.  I took some time yesterday to study the life of Martin Luther King Jr.  The “I Have a Dream” speech that King delivered on August 28, 1963, is a piece that forever changed American history.  This was the speech that fueled on the civil rights movement, allowing for legislation the very next year on July 2, 1964.

I was also intrigued to discover something that to me was awesome!  Exactly 50 years after King’s speech, on August 28, 2013, I asked Cheyenne Frisbee to be my girlfriend.  I did so in a place that was special to us, in a playground called Dreamland.  I guess you could say that I had a dream also.  Maybe our dream is not as big as King’s, but maybe it is so.  Maybe it’s bigger!  I believe I have a dream from a far greater King, King Jesus.

Now in no way am I trying to put Martin Luther King Jr. down in any way or exalt myself, but I believe God has greater dreams that are ahead.  King himself was a reverend and a devout follower of Jesus, standing for what he believed in.  King was bold and willing to speak up, even to the point of death.  Today, our generation must do the same.  We must speak up, and be unafraid of what others will think of our opinion.  We must speak the truth, and speak it in love.  We are in a much greater fight now than we were in the 1960’s because the light is meeting the dark in the unseen world.  And this time, instead of coming together, there will be separation.  We must choose which side we are going to be on, the light or the dark.  The light and the dark are rising at the same time.  The dark will frustrate you, but you must keep pursuing the light, because there is light at the end of the tunnel.  Fight off the fear that is in you.  You may not understand this piece in history right now and the why of it, but a bit longer, and soon you will.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

