DOT: Defense, Offense, Transition

DOT: Defense, Offense, Transition

I have noticed that there has been some shifting going on in this past week.  At the beginning of last week, the high temperature for Iowa didn’t even reach 0 degrees.  However, today, the temperature is near 40, the sun is shining, and the snow is melting. 

I started a class called Perspectives, which gives a worldview on Christian missions.  Though I am wondering how I am going to get the mountain of work done for this class, I know I always seem to find a way to get school work done.  I will be taking the class alongside my girlfriend, so if I fail, I can blame it on her.  I’m joking, the temperature won’t plummet now.

I found out today that a good friend of mine, whom I was just getting to know in my first 6 months of living in Iowa, is moving away.  While I am sad to see him go, I know that he is very happy to start his new youth minister position.  I had just found a guy that is in to Christian metalcore and we were just starting to develop some good youth ministry work together.

This morning, I was talking to God and was reminded of a prophetic word I when I heard Francis Chan speak two weeks ago.  “Strengthen what remains and is about to die.” Then I thought of the seasons and basketball.  In basketball you have three stages of gameplay; defense, offense, and transition.  In 2012, we as Christians were on the defense.  Satan had his way, taking every shot he wanted.  I lost the girl I thought would work out and my job.  I tried to be good on offense, but just struggled.  Then in 2013, we were in a season of transition.  I saw transition all around me.  Many of my friends made big changes, from getting a new job to getting married.  I was blessed to move to Iowa to start a youth minister position and to find a great girlfriend!  Like basketball our transition has now set us up for offense.  In 2014, it is time for Christians to bounce back! Strengthen what remains and is about to die because the transition is being complete. The game has shifted in our favor! We are getting into our offensive set!

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

